Practicalities

Conference venues:

– 21 June: Sapienza University – Via Carlo Fea 5 (Metro Stop: Piazza Bologna): 

– 22-23 June: LUISS University of Rome – Viale Romania 32 (Tram and Bus Stop: Piazza Ungheria):

 

 

 

Airport(s):

Rome has two airports:

Trains:

Rome can easily be reached by train – in particular, the Frecce and Alta velocità routes stop at Roma Termini. See here: https://www.lefrecce.it/B2CWeb/search.do?parameter=changeLanguage&cFID=PMbAJ6G4yeI1&lang=en&

and here: http://www.trenitalia.com/tcom-en

Accommodations:

Rome is a big city but accommodation close to the conference venue is quite limited, especially in June. We therefore strongly recommend booking accommodation in advance. Participants should book their own accommodation directly.

Here’s a list of hotels in the neighborhood of the conference venues

21st June’s venue:

  1. Hotel Fenix https://www.fenixhotel.it/en/

  2. Hotel Mercur Piazza Bologna https://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-3304-mercure-rome-piazza-bologna/index.shtml

  3. Villa Aurora residence http://www.villauroraresidence.com/en/

  4. Hotel Villa Angelina https://www.checkinvillaangelina.com/en/

  5. Hotel Principe Torlonia http://www.hotelprincipetorlonia.com/en/

22nd-23rd June’s venue:

  1. Hotel delle Muse http://www.hoteldellemuse.com/index.php/en/

  2. Hotel Villa Duse http://www.hotelvilladuse.com/en/

  3. Hotel Buenos Aires http://www.hotelbuenosaires.it/en/

  4. Hotel Mercure Corso Trieste https://www.accorhotels.com/gb/hotel-3320-mercure-rome-corso-trieste/index.shtml

  5. Ibis Art Hotel Noba Roma http://www.arthotelnoba.com/en/

  6. Aldrovandi Villa Borghese http://aldrovandi-villa-borghese.h-rez.com/

  7. Hotel Fiume https://www.hotelfiume-roma.com/en/index.html

  8. Residence Hotel Parioli http://www.residencehotelparioli.com/en/

  9. Hotel Villa Grazioli http://www.villagrazioli.it/en/

  10. Attico liberty, apartments http://www.atticoliberty.it/8/

  11. A Casa di Lia, B&B http://www.acasadilia.net/home-e.html

  12. A Casa di Tiziana, B&B http://www.acasaditiziana.com/en/

  13. Villa Paganini, B&B http://www.villapaganinibb.it/nuovo/?lang=en

  14. Le rose, B&B http://www.bblerose.it/?lang=en

  15. Casa pariolina, B&B https://www.casapariolina.it/en/home/

  16. Sharon B&B http://www.sharonbb.com/?lang=en

  17. Hotel Relais Vatican View http://www.vaticanview.com/en/

Tram and Bus Schedule:

http://viaggiacon.atac.roma.it/index.html?language=eng

Restaurants, bars, pubs

During the Conference, coffee breaks will be provided to the speakers. We will have a welcome reception on June 21st and the social dinner on June 22nd. However, here’s a list of places where you can go if you want to leave the conference for a while:

  1. Bar Incontriamoci https://www.facebook.com/incontriamoci/?rf=123131987751041

  2. Laboratorio Birraccia 3.0 http://www.birrificioclandestino.com/

  3. Ham Holy Burger https://www.facebook.com/hamholyburger.roma.viachiana/

  4. La cannoleria siciliana https://www.lacannoleriasiciliana.it/

  5. Maf Bistrot http://mafbistrot.com/

  6. Misto Mixology & Cibarie https://www.facebook.com/mistococktail/

  7. Qito https://www.facebook.com/qitoroma/

  8. Streatart http://www.streatart.it/

  9. Susina Bistrot https://www.facebook.com/susinabistroroma/

  10. Whiterabbit http://whiterabbitroma.it/

  11. Bell http://bellroma.it/

  12. Semidivino – enoteca http://www.semidivino-enoteca.com/

  13. Gaetano Costa Le Roof http://www.gaetanocosta.net/leroof.html

  14. I limoncini http://www.ilimoncini.it/

  15. La pariolina http://www.lapariolina.it/

  16. The King of Salads https://www.facebook.com/thekingofsaladsPiazzaIstria/

  17. Il mattarello http://www.ristorantemattarello.it/

  18. Zero: http://www.zerorestaurant.it/

Tourism: sightseeing and leisure 🙂

This will be a crowded Conference. But you may find time to visit Rome, especially if it is your first time here. As you know, there are some musts for newcomers, but the city is too well-known and big to give uncontroversial tips. So, here’s a list of websites where bloggers, correspondents for international newspapers and other ‘experts’ give their thoughts:

https://www.wantedinrome.com/whatson

https://www.romeing.it/

http://www.buzzinrome.com/

https://www.lonelyplanet.com/italy/rome/travel-tips-and-articles/first-time-rome-a-beginners-guide-to-the-eternal-city/40625c8c-8a11-5710-a052-1479d2763b51

https://www.theguardian.com/travel/2016/nov/14/10-things-i-love-about-rome-italy-sights-food-gelato

https://darkrome.com/bestguide

https://edition.cnn.com/travel/article/insider-guide-rome/index.html

http://www.thewanderblogger.com/rome-travel-tips/

https://www.bbcgoodfood.com/howto/guide/cultural-etiquette-guide-rome